Some of you may have been wondering where Cathy’s been lately. I know I have been silent on this blog for quite a while now. This past summer provided many opportunities for adventure and blogging about those adventures; however, once the school year began, things changed for me. You see, I am a teacher and the school year has kind of slowed me down a bit. I don’t think many people realize what a time consuming job teaching is. I’ve spent many days and weekends taking my work home with me, which has prevented me from getting outdoors as much as I would like. Unfortunately, from August until November we did not do many hikes. Once November rolled around, I realized this needed to change.

I am trying to find the balance between work and home. It is proving to be a rather difficult challenge. I have been making it a point lately to come home at a decent time so that I can get a walk in with John. Sometimes this includes our baby grandson, Elliot (We are determined to make a hiker out of him!). If I have to work a little bit after supper, then so be it. At least I am getting home in time to spend some quality time with my family while doing something good for my body, mind, and soul.

Since November, we have been able to do some conditioning and some hikes together. I am beginning to get back to where I was back in the summer. John is already there, but I still have a little ways to go. He has had a few more opportunities than I have, but I am determined to catch up. We are currently in Hiawassee trying to finish up the Appalachian Trail in Georgia. We only have 3 miles left! I am hoping to post a trip report soon. In the meantime, Happy Trails!

